Gophs recruiting at a MAC level??

dinkything

Reaction score
I am a fan of Coach Kill and anticipate he will eventually lead the Gopher football program back to where Glen Mason had it...

>> 8-15 record with 0 bowl appearances during Glen's first 2 seasons

>>18-17 record with 2 bowl appearances during his next 3 seasons

>>38-25 record with 5 bowl appearances during Glen's final 5 seasons (with bowl victories over Arkansas, Oregon, and Alabama, all in the past decade:))

Smilin' Glen (as PR used to refer to him) developed and coached well, though he did not inherit much in terms of high-end talent heading into that inaugural 1997 season.

One could argue that Jerry Kill did not inherit a whole lot more, although that is difficult to believe, since the brew was a self-proclaimed recruiting machine. The brew's highly acclaimed recruiting class of 2008 is now mostly gone (looks like WR Xzavian Brandon is the next from this class to depart for greener pastures). Many on these boards gave the brew a free pass during the ensuing recruiting seasons, suggesting he shouldn't be expected to follow up that 2008 recruiting class with additional blockbuster classes because the cupboard here was finally fully stocked with high-end talent, and prospective recruits would surely be scared away to more enticing depth charts elsewhere.

But that turns out to be fallacy, as Kill recently described next season's roster of upperclassmen as 'empty' (see Phil Miller's column on 12/15).

My 2 questions are as follows:

1. With the exception of a few local guys (i.e. Pirsig, Hayes, Nelson, Williams) who want to play in front of family and friends, it looks like Jerry Kill is recruiting primarily at a MAC level. Many 'holer posters regularly mention Jerry Kill is recruiting players to 'his system'...which we universally acknowledge. But one previous poster inquired whether there are any 4-and-5-star players that might also fit his system?