Thank You for this Board

coolhandgopher

Reaction score
To the moderators of GH,
I'm a long-time veteran of the Gopher Hole, although my posting has diminished significantly over the years once I moved overseas and my access to watching the games was significantly diminished. Nonetheless, I continued to be a regular visitor to the Hole to find out the latest on recruiting, post-game thoughts/analysis, scrimmage/spring game notes, etc. etc. Inevitably, during the quiet times of the off-season, my time spent on the basketball and football boards would be brief, so I would stop by the Off-Topic board. Occasionally I would engage in the discussions, but in recent years I would find myself "doom scrolling" through the threads that would either start as political threads or inevitably head in that direction. They overwhelmed the board and would inevitably leave me angry, dismayed, or both and I would find myself perseverating over commentary from strangers, which was of course, stupid and not productive. My self-discipline would not allow me to weed through the morass to find the updates about the pro teams or music or news of the weird without stopping to read other posts which would be soul-sucking. I found myself visiting GH less and less. It just wasn't a healthy place, especially in the midst of quarantine/pandemic.

So, to my great delight and surprise, this page sprung up out of nowhere and I don't believe I have visited the other off-topic board since. Even though this board isn't exactly bustling with news, I relish popping over when time allows. I enjoy my visits to the GH again. Thank you guys.

Well said. Hopefully this board picks up more steam as people reengage.

My general real of thumb for the other board is to not post on any thread over 5 pages and not open any thread over 10 pages.

My general real of thumb for the other board is to not post on any thread over 5 pages and not open any thread over 10 pages.