USC Fan wants to know about Seantrel Henderson

Reaction score
I am new here, and would like some input on what we (SC) can expect from Seantrel. Is he as good as they say, or will he be another overhyped 5-Star underperforming at SC. The circus around his signing, (his parents wanted to delay to hear from the NCAA on possible SC violations but signed anyway without hearing anything) was a red flag for me. We just got rid of one prima donna, Everson Griffen, who was one of the most immature players I have ever seen up close and personal. Tremendous talent, but lots of ego also. He did not work hard and played hard only when he felt like it. Is Seantrel like that? We are really thin on the offensive line. We only had seven O-Linemen during spring practice. It would be nice if this kid could get some game reps.

Help me out here.

Look forward to seeing you Sept 18th.

Fight On!

Let me preface this by saying I am not a scouting expert, heck, even an amateur. Henderson will be a great player - and will play in the NFL. I do not know if he will start year 1 with you guys or not. He would start here. We've dealt with overhyped four star players here, but never the five star variant. To many here, the circus involving his signing seemed to center around Seantrel's father. I believe that at this point in his career, given his national prominence, Seantrel is relatively even-keeled and humble. You were able to sign a great recruit - much to our chagrin.

From everything I have heard here, Seantrel is a hard worker. I really cannot knock him in any way, except that I wish he had stayed home.

Henderson-

Upside: He is massive. He is as strong of a kid you will see as a freshman. He had the size and strength to be an NFL guy as a Junior in high school. Makes great initial contact on run blocks. If he gets his hands on you on pass blocks you stand almost no chance.