University of Minnesota President Joan Gabel will recommend to the Board of Regents next week that fall classes be held in-person and residence halls

They must have a plan for if an outbreak occurs in a residence hall or are confident they can keep social distancing measures in place enough to limit any spread. I'd also wonder what the liability is, if someone is immunocompromised, are they being provided the resources they need to attend classes remotely? or are they getting a refund on the semester if they don't attend?

Concluding by thanksgiving seems to be a way to limit potential spread. With tons of students going back home and then coming back to campus, I bet they are worried that if MN is doing well on the spread but another state is having an outbreak that it could cause an outbreak right before finals.

Honestly, not surprised by this announcement...just hope they are taking the right precautions to keep everyone safe. If I was a professor over 65 I'd be asking what the precautions are right now. They see hundreds of students a day, so they will get exposed if not careful.

They must have a plan for if an outbreak occurs in a residence hall or are confident they can keep social distancing measures in place enough to limit any spread. I'd also wonder what the liability is, if someone is immunocompromised, are they being provided the resources they need to attend classes remotely? or are they getting a refund on the semester if they don't attend?

Concluding by thanksgiving seems to be a way to limit potential spread. With tons of students going back home and then coming back to campus, I bet they are worried that if MN is doing well on the spread but another state is having an outbreak that it could cause an outbreak right before finals.