Sporting News: Worst loss for each BT team in last 25 years (MN: 2005 vs UW)

I say 2003 because I have always heard that the game has changed Minnesota football ever since. I think losing to Texas Tech in 06 could be argued too.

Probably isn't the worst, but considering its recency in my memory (I didn't start a the U until Fall 2006) and what it cost us (a west division title and a trip to the B1G championship), the blown 17-3 lead against Wisconsin last year looms large for me.

2003 Michigan, and there is no discussing others.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

Yeah, we can discuss numbers 2 through whatever. 03 Michigan game is head and shoulders above them all. I was a freshman in the band that year, didn't really understand the significance of the loss to the program at the time. Seeing how the rest of the season played out and subsequent seasons (and how fans reacted to what looked like good Gopher seasons early on), it's very clear how much that loss set us back. Still hurts.

One of the great myths perpetuated on GopherHole, that the Gophers definitely would have beaten Michigan State the next week after choking away the Michigan game. Perhaps, but there's no way of knowing. It's not like MSU was terrible that season (8-4, 5-3). In fact, Sparty was undefeated in the Big Ten (3-0) heading into the Gopher game, before fading (1-3 the rest of the way).

The 2003 Michigan game definitely gets my vote simply for what it would have meant to win that game. The whole state was ready to hop on the bandwagon, casual fans were starting to notice the Gophers, then the face plant. The program never really recovered.