Sid: I've been covering Gophs for 70 years, Tubby firing was one of most unfair ever

Whether you believe in Pitino or not, at least you aren't complaining about whether or not we can inbound the basketball.

Whether you believe in Pitino or not, at least you aren't complaining about whether or not we can inbound the basketball.

Well I'd rather be complaining about inbounding the ball on the way to the tournament.

per Sid:

• Former Gophers basketball coach Tubby Smith is 6-2 at Memphis, with one of those victories coming against Iowa. I have been covering the Gophers for 70 years, and I rate the firing of Smith and Mason as two of the most unfair dismissals of any coaches.

http://www.startribune.com/kyle-rudolph-vikings-must-curb-mistakes/405553016/

Go Gophers!!
odd time to bring/retread this old story. What has it been 4 years? And bringing it up when the current coach is 8-1?

odd time to bring/retread this old story. What has it been 4 years? And bringing it up when the current coach is 8-1?

9-1 actually but yeah it's a bit odd. It would be interesting to see what this team would look like with Alvin Ellis/Alex Foster/Julian Welch type recruits sprinkled with an athletic swing player with an 8 foot range. Hard to believe that team would be 9-1 at this point.

I figured someone has been ghostwriting Sid's columns, but I had no idea it was Friend of Tubby.

The Gophers would be a tournament team if Tubby was still here. Precious!!

He did make the tournament at Texas Tech last year, which was a program that is probably even more starved for success than we are.

Also Julian Welch wasn't deadweight or anything. He was actually a 43% 3 point shooter his first year here, and could reliably hit free throws, except for seemingly when it meant the difference between winning and losing a game.

To be clear, I'm not pining for Tubby and like where the program is headed right now.