Playing SDSU, NDSU, and USD a good idea?

GopherBeef

Reaction score
As was alluded to in the article about the games with USC, we will be playing NDSU (2011), SDSU (2015), and USD (2010) as well for non-conference games in the future. I remember many posts and threads after last year's loss to NDSU saying that we should never play these types of schools again because we have nothing to gain and a lot to lose. At least the two games vs. NDSU helped fill up the dome and probably brought some extra $$, but that should not be a problem in TCF.

The question-do you think it is a good idea to play these FCS border-state schools? I am an SDSU grad in addition to a U of M grad, so I am excited to see the Jacks come to town next year.

However, I can also see that these games can be a trap because a lot of the kids who play for these schools are from Minnesota and probably think they could play for the U, leading to some added motivation and revenge on their part.

Thoughts?

Added note-interesting that UND is not among the additions. The U must be sticking with their pledge not to play teams with Indian mascots.

A good idea

They are decent teams that can give the Gophers a scare now and then, as we saw with NDSU. Plus lots of Minnesota kids play for these schools. Can't see playing USC instead of Washington State - after all, Iowa beat us at home, 55-0. Why open the year with a pasting that may keep us out of a good bowl later? We are a long way from being competitive with the likes of Southern Cal.

Those TCF bank stadium tickets for the NDSU game will be very valuable. We were easily able to fill up the dome with NDSU fans... suddenly there are 13k less seats available for them. I'd say one could recoup half the cost of their season ticket package by selling their tix to a Sioux fan.