Need guidance regarding streaming tv and sports

U2Gopher

Reaction score
So I was a DirecTV subscriber for over 10 years. Sold my home in the country and moved to town. Long story short, can’t get DirecTV or Dish at new residence. While local cable does carry BIG10 network, I can’t get the MLB season package nor the NHL center ice package. What options are available via streaming where I can get MLB and NHL packages along with Big10? I’m paying way too much for this local cable and can’t watch what I really want. I’m a total novice about streaming so talk down to me about please. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

You might be in luck. It looks like MLB and NHL offer their own, standalone streaming apps and subscriptions. So you wouldn't need any live TV subscription to get them.

Check out:
https://www.nhl.com/subscribe
https://www.mlb.com/live-stream-games/subscribe/offseason

For Big Ten Network, I think you have to subscribe to live TV to get the main channel content. They do offer a standalone service called BTN+, but I don't think that gives you access to the main content, just smaller matches/other sports (volleyball, etc.). So one option would be YouTubeTV, for example.

Thanks so much for your help! I’ll check it out

Thanks so much for your help! I’ll check it out
If you do get YouTubeTV, I think it comes with the MLB and NHL channels. So you might be able to use your login on those MLB and NHL apps. Not sure, worth a shot to ask about.

You might be in luck. It looks like MLB and NHL offer their own, standalone streaming apps and subscriptions. So you wouldn't need any live TV subscription to get them.

Check out:
https://www.nhl.com/subscribe
https://www.mlb.com/live-stream-games/subscribe/offseason