Is this allowed?

minimax

Reaction score
Sorry to trouble you all with such a trivial, personal question, but I figured it's June so people won't hate me too much.

I'm a lifelong resident of the Hawkeye state (sigh) who has rooted for the Gophers my whole life because of generations of Gophers on my dad's side.

This fall, I'm going to Saint Louis University, which has no football team. Is it OK for me to still cheer on Kill's Gopher's from MO?

I know it's silly, but maybe this situation raises larger questions of college loyalty vs alma mater, whatever. Thanks in advance for the advice, and I will banish myself if need be.

Of course! My son went to a private school in MN and wore Goph stuff the whole time.

Of course. Some people chide others for cheering for a school they didn't attend (which is not the case in your situation since SLU doesn't have football), which I never understood. I grew up with my Dad having a deep passion for the Gophers, that was passed on to me and despite living in 5 different states and attending undergrad and grad school at other Universities with major college sports, I never once lost an ounce of my Gopher pride. In fact, I found living outside the state and living around fans of other schools, only intensified my passion for the Gophers.

Go Gophers!!

Easy yes for football. For other sports you should support your school. There is nothing worse than university of minnesota students wearing badger gear around campus.

Sorry to trouble you all with such a trivial, personal question, but I figured it's June so people won't hate me too much.

I'm a lifelong resident of the Hawkeye state (sigh) who has rooted for the Gophers my whole life because of generations of Gophers on my dad's side.

This fall, I'm going to Saint Louis University, which has no football team. Is it OK for me to still cheer on Kill's Gopher's from MO?