I'm no expert, but is this a good thing?...

I'm not sure every choice needs to be "good" or "bad" outside the folks who really want to spin it that way to push whatever other opinions they have.... god knows that will happen starting ... now.

As for gameday it's not going to make a difference, the number of cops were few, and I didn't see them active very often, different cops aren't likely to do much differently as far as gameday goes.

As far as football goes, this really doesn't matter.

Last edited:

It’s a really easy statement to make that could be walked back in a less contentious moment if it really needed to be.

It seems like a nonsensical, emotional statement that is going to need to be walked back at some point out of necessity.

Yes, this was a tragedy. No, it does not mean we do not need a police force near campus that extends beyond the university's.

I and a small group of others got assaulted, randomly, by a crazy man with a knife just off campus (near my apartment) back in the days. The police were right there when I needed them, helped me and my friends, and detained the threatening individual. We don't need the Mpls police giving the middle finger to our great university and just staying away altogether.

There are more “good cops” percentage-wise than there are “good people” in society. We need to look inward and be less judgmental.

They have a thankless job exacerbated by the media’s love of the ever-present feral part of society.

This guy didn’t deserve to die the way he did. A reactionary blanket policy will only cause the 80% of society to be at the mercy of the predatory 20%.

Other police forces will step up. The game day force I believe is voluntary.

There are more “good cops” percentage-wise than there are “good people” in society. We need to look inward and be less judgmental.

They have a thankless job exacerbated by the media’s love of the ever-present feral part of society.