If Chryst is selected

Oneoldgopher

Reaction score
Would that weaken the Badgers and strengthen the Gophers?

Frankly, I think it would weaken the Gophers and strengthen the Badgers. My reasoning is suspect and BIASED. Any calmer heads around here that could point me to the promised land.

All kidding aside, who is this guy and what could he bring to Minnesota?

It would hurt the Gophers and hurt the badgers.

If Chryst is selected it will hurt the Gophers, the future, any excitement, Maturi, me, and provide more ammunition for becky fans to further grind our faces in the dirt. NO to Chryst!

I have little actual knowledge about any of the coaches mentioned for the Gopher job and have no real opinion about whom should be hired. However, would somebody explain the negativity toward Chryst as a possible coach? Is it simply the Maturi/Wisconsin connection or is there something in his background I don't know about? I'm really curious because Wisconsin's offense has generally impressed me while he's been there, but he obviously isn't a popular choice here.

I think some of the reasons Chryst will not be the next head coach:
Maturi is under a lot of pressure on this hire. It is well known that Maturi and Chryst are very good friends. The pressure of this hire makes it seem unlikely that Maturi would select a close friend. It leaves too much of an opportunity for second-guessing and puts Chryst in a tough spot too.

I think the mood for former Wisconsin assistants in the Twin Cities is not real good. With so many on Brewster's staff and Brad Childress, I think the general public is ready for a different background.

He has no experience as a head coach and Maturi has talked up this hire too much to not bring in someone without head coaching experience.