Future of Gopher Football

lakesgopher

Reaction score
I was and still am a Brewster supporter! But I think our program is never going to be able to achieve greatness unless we go out and hire a "Lou Holtz" type coach. I am a coach and I come from a very large coaching family. I have been apart of H.S. staffs that come in for programs that have never been successful in their histories. I have seen what happens to young kids when losing is the norm and I have seen how hard it is to beat the negativity out of kids. That is why I have and always believed Brew is perfect for Minny! He is up-beat and positive. It takes a lot of time and energy to dismantle negativity! And it's always easier to hate/be angry/negative towards something rather then keep to the positive path. Like I said I am a Brewster guy, however, this program will not be successful until we bring in a coach who is above criticsm. It hurts me to say that because I love the U and the state of Minnesota, but as a fan base we suck! Look at how long we supported a guy who was content upon being average. And then people try to defend the fact that he was a good coach...He was very poor against Big Ten teams and very good against bad competition! Great job Mason!

Our fan base is brutal! We can't fill the student section in a brand new stadium that is quite small for Big Ten standards. We are in one of the biggest populations of all the schools in the Big Ten(city as well as student body)