Big Ten coaches poll envisions a Minnesota three-peat


Well-known member
Nov 11, 2008
Reaction score
Per Jess:

Much has changed in college hockey over the past decade, since the Big Ten became the first multi-sport conference to sponsor the sport around this time in 2013. The Big Ten itself has grown exponentially, for example, while still looking for the first NCAA hockey title won by one of its members since 2007.

Perhaps the biggest constant in the first decade of Big Ten hockey has been the regular season dominance by the Minnesota Gophers. Wisconsin (2021), Penn State (2020), Ohio State (2019) and Notre Dame (2018) have all won a single Big Ten regular season title. The Gophers have won six of them, including the last two in a row.

And if the league’s seven coaches know their stuff, they will make way for another Big Ten title banner at the Gophers rink next spring. The Big Ten’s coaches poll shows that a Minnesota three-peat is the expectation, with Bob Motzko’s team returning the bulk of its scoring, a solid defensive corps and its standout goalie from the roster that came within minutes of the 2023 NCAA title.

Go Gophers!!

Top Bottom