Advice for Potential Walk-On

Ringleaderman

Reaction score
I have been training myself since June of 2010 for being in good shape for Football Walk-ons for the Gophers in February 2012. I am continuously seeking advice and knowledge from all different people (mostly former walk-ons) to see what I need to prepare. In a nut shell, I am always more than happy to take in as much information as I can. What kind of drills would they run? What equipment should I bring? Any information helps or suggestions is more than welcome.
Thanks!

Sign up for a Summer Gopher Football Camp and work your butt off. You need to get noticed. Make an attempt to visit a practice session if you can. You will see for yourself what they players are working on.

Don't you have a coach who can advise you?

My guess is that Ringleaderman is not a current HS athlete. I'd contact Billy Glasscock (U of M Director of Recruiting Operations) about what to expect from this staff regarding the walk-on process. I don't have an e-mail address for him. But if anyone else does...

Good luck!!!

My guess is that Ringleaderman is not a current HS athlete. I'd contact Billy Glasscock (U of M Director of Recruiting Operations) about what to expect from this staff regarding the walk-on process. I don't have an e-mail address for him. But if anyone else does...

Good luck!!!

Here you go

[email protected]

This is the best bit of advice that I have ever received as far as making a football team, learn how to long snap. Practice it every single day as often as possible. If you can do this one simple thing, you will increase your chance of making the football team 10 fold. If you are serious about being making a Big 10 football team, long snap as often as possible (a few hours a day). Practice both distances (punts and kickoffs), etc. Maybe ask Billy Glasscock what they look for in a long snapper as far as how quick it gets back there, velocity, way he wants you to snap the ball.