So when did it all start for you?

Rouser4eVA

No longer a lurker...
Reaction score
I'm curious about the etiology of your Gopher fan loyalty, fellow Holers. What are your earliest Gopher football memories? And with the constant heartbreak involved with being "one of us" how the heck did it stick?

I'll start...I fell for Gopher Football because to be in the hockey band, you had to be in the marching band. I didn't grow up going to Gopher football games, because well, I don't know why my parents never brought me?? But when I donned the Minnesota Marching Band uniform and became a part of Saturdays at the U of M, I guess it just made sense, being a lifelong Minnesotan, playing the Rouser, singing Minn March and Hail Minn. I guess I underwent a kind of psychologically powerful brain-washing association between Gopher football and a strong sense of loyalty and ownership.

I graduated in 2000 and the U will always hold a very special place in my heart, as dysfunctional as that sounds, and Gopher football will always be my Saturday love!

So how bout you all?

Go Gophers!

First Live Gopher FB memory

Watching Tyrone Carter return the opening kick of the '98 season for a TD vs Arkansas State. I was 9.

For me it was the Fall of 1999.

While I'm a Minnesota Native, I had lived out of state for a long time. My wife and I moved back here in the fall of 1998. We had been living in South Bend and would regularly shell out big bucks for Irish games. After she enrolled at the U, we got the student ticket mailer advertising student tickets for $55 a season (including a t-shirt). Well, this was just too good of a deal, so we became season ticket holders in 1999. What a great season to board the train!

And we have never looked back.

Go Gophers.