Playoff (with very few changes)

Goldmember

Reaction score
This plan would involve very little change...
picture.php

At-large slots are based on BCS standings. Boise State was elimintaed for only playing and beating one BCS-conference opponent. TCU was eliminated because of Utah.

I have been tracking this plan for a few years. It worked very well in '06-'07 and '07-'08. But in '08-'09 it was challenged by how weak the ACC and Big East were compared to the Big 12 South.

Some people would claim that the Big Ten and Pac Ten have a "bye" becuase they play no conference championship. This is true; but fewer teams would be included from these conferences (until/unless they expand to 12). Also, the Big East would essentially be demoted to half of a BCS conference. But they would play their regional at home.

Interested in any comments. I think it's the closest thing to perfect.

This would be a huge improvement over what we have for sure. And if perfect means capturing the best team it'll probably do that most of the time. But I think one of the knocks of the current system is that it virtually locks out non BCS candidates. You're system is probably still a little exclusive.

This plan would involve very little change...

Interested in any comments. I think it's the closest thing to perfect.

your proposal, if enacted, would likely kill the great game of college football as we know it...

what we have right now, though imperfect, is the closest thing we have to perfection...

seeing that you have plenty of time on your hands, i have an asignment for you...

please check popularity (i.e. television ratings) of college basketball vs. college football across the USA...over the past 5-10 years...