Phil Steele has Gophers #1 in nation for returning experience

That's a profession? I've been doing it on a voluntary basis for about 20 years now.
You're right, maybe its amateur and not professional. I don't get paid for it and I didn't hire an agent (a lawyer is a different story).

They already took a kicker through the portal that was very good in the MAC. So I expect the kicking game to be improved, not sure about the punting or return game though.
Didn't we get 2 kickers as transfers that would both be considered upgrades from last year?

I don't care how good or bad the coach is. the players have to have a basic level of ability. The greatest coach in the world could not turn me into a placekicker or a punter.

So, I would suggest that this is more of an evaluation or recruiting issue. The Gophers need to put a higher priority on evaluating, locating and recruiting place-kickers and punters.

I would not be surprised if this is something that they use the transfer portal to focus on.
Part of the field position game is kick returns. It’s not just our kickers. A good kick return game can give you some short fields on offense. If you fair catch everything, including kickoffs, and don’t have a kick return threat, you give up a lot when you are in a tough, hard-nosed field position battle game.

Part of the field position game is kick returns. It’s not just our kickers. A good kick return game can give you some short fields on offense. If you fair catch everything, including kickoffs, and don’t have a kick return threat, you give up a lot when you are in a tough, hard-nosed field position battle game.
I assume the fair catch thing is a coaching decision. Seems like the returners are being told to fair catch everything unless they have a ton of room.

Didn't we get 2 kickers as transfers that would both be considered upgrades from last year?
actually 2 kickers and a punter