MSU player suspended

Nothing wrong with him having it with conceal and carry. Just don't brandish it unless absolutely necessarily for protection.

Irrelevant.

Except this is a thread about a college athlete with a conceal and carry permit who has been kicked off the team for brandishing the weapon. I get that the crime is in the brandishing, but Tim Riggins question is directly on point with this conversation.

Actually, if I was a coach there would be no guns, permit or not. Stay out of places where you need a gun. Not a lot of holdups in dorms or athletic facilities or on campus if you are 6'2 and 200 lbs

There can be several reasons for having a carry permit. I have friends who are part of the gun culture, and they believe VERY strongly that they have a constitutional right to bear arms. (we agree to disagree on this point). They also say they want a gun for protection.

For all we know, this player might come from a bad neighborhood, or may have been involved - or had family members involved in dangerous situations, and want to have a gun for protection.

Having said that, obviously you have to conform to team rules. Just the same as the rules that prohibit someone with a carry permit bringing a gun into a school, church, or courthouse.

Because it's his second amendment right.

Just because he has the right to carry a gun, doesn't answer the question why he feels he needs it. I don't understand why any B1G football player would feel the need to carry one.

Just because he has the right to carry a gun, doesn't answer the question why he feels he needs it. I don't understand why any B1G football player would feel the need to carry one.

Did you see what happened to Dak Prescott a week or two ago? I'm not trying to highlight that issue specifically as one where conceal and carry may have been beneficial, just saying there are reasons for high profile athletes to feel cautious

What you don't have is a right to be on a football team.