Purdue

East:
Indiana
Michigan
Michigan State
Ohio State
Penn State
Pittsburgh

Play your division foes each year, play 3 of the other 6 on a rotating basis each year, a total of 8 conference games. Plus a chance for one of the other division foes in the Big Ten Championship game ;).

4 non-conference games, plus 8, equals 12.

Realistic?

No, not realistic. If they put Ohio State, Michigan, and Penn State together, we might as well as call ourselves the Big Twelve Redux. Geography will need to be put aside if balance is to be preserved.

Do people actually believe the Pitt "news?"

I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure there would be regents meetings, public hearings, etc before they were invited and accepted an invitation to join the Big Ten. If I know anything from watching the U of M, large public institutions don't act quickly and they don't act quietly.

Note That The "Pitt In" Scenario

Protects virtually ALL historic rivalries, save for the Old Oaken Bucket, and The Little Brown Jug. But the Jug game has already gone on 2-year hiatus every 6-8 years or so.

Also, think long-term. The looks a little heavy in the East, but Michigan has been average lately, and Penn State has had years of mediocrity (remember the Fire JoePa groundswell 4-5 years ago). Also, (and this may be the hardest thing I've had to write in a while), Herky and Bucky don't have to take a back seat to anyone in the East, save perhaps tOSU, and to that I say - get in line.

Anyway, makes soooo much sense, my scenario has zero chance of coming to fruition.:rolleyes:

How about this? Would combine some geographic principles with rivalries. OSU and Michigan must be in separate divisions.

BT North:
Minnesota
Wisconsin
Michigan
Michigan State
Pittsburgh
Iowa

BT South:
Ohio State
Penn State
Indiana
Illinois
Northwestern
Purdue

Ummm, One Big Problem

How about this? Would combine some geographic principles with rivalries. OSU and Michigan must be in separate divisions.

BT North:
Minnesota
Wisconsin