Cooking with Unique Spices

Gopher_In_NYC

Reaction score
I'm a budding semi not-bad amateur chef and received an article today on one of my recipe emails regarding cooking with saffron. I'm wondering if anyone on here has used it before and their thoughts, experiences on it or any other unique spices (that I'd have to order online or buy at a specialty foods store). Also, any places online you order etc...

Thought this would be a fun winter project.

Thanks.

I use saffron for various things. One tip is break up the threads into smaller pieces and put it in a little bit of water for a few minutes before adding it. That helps diffuse the flavor.

It goes well with dairy such as cream sauce. Also a bit part of Moroccan dishes if you ever decide to explore that. If you do go with Moroccan you'll get to explore Ras Al Hanout. It's a great sweet/spicy blend with a lot of variations. I've started using it for various things such as on eggs or on game birds that I get hunting.

I use saffron for various things. One tip is break up the threads into smaller pieces and put it in a little bit of water for a few minutes before adding it. That helps diffuse the flavor.

It goes well with dairy such as cream sauce. Also a bit part of Moroccan dishes if you ever decide to explore that. If you do go with Moroccan you'll get to explore Ras Al Hanout. It's a great sweet/spicy blend with a lot of variations. I've started using it for various things such as on eggs or on game birds that I get hunting.

Thanks.

I'm actually enjoying my cooking journey more than I thought I would.

I put garlic powder in pretty much everything. Does that count?

What's the difference? Powder seems easier to mix into my scrambled eggs.