BIG Projections

tripledouble

Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but I'll take a whack at it before conference play begins. Feel free to shoot holes in it as you see fit.

1. Maryland. Lots of talent. Could contend for national title. We'll know more about them after their upcoming matchup with U Conn.
2. Ohio State. Might be the BIGs most talented squad, but chemistry isn't yet where it should be.
3. Indiana. Tyra Buss and a solid cast of experienced players.
4. Northwestern. Nia Coffey is one of the BIG's top 5 players and is surrounded by some experienced teammates. Not much depth/must stay healthy. Underachieved last year.
5. Michigan. Flaherty and Thome give them a good inside/outside combo.
6. Penn State. A bit of an enigma. Lost by 22 to Drexel to open the season, but then defeated then 13th-ranked Tennessee.
7. Michigan State. Jankoska (sp?) will score, but who else. Will Jankoska try to do too much?
8. Iowa. Disterhoff, Davis, Gustafson...some good parts, inside and out.
9. Minnesota. One of the BIG's toughest schedules with Maryland and OSU both on the schedule twice.
10. Purdue. Some bad non-conference losses point toward a long BIG season for the Boilers.
11. Illinois. Bollant on the hot seat?
12. Nebraska. Jess Shepard and who else? This program hit hard by last year's defections. New coach Amy Williams.
13. Wisconsin. Another new coach. Same results.
14. Rutgers. Is CVS nearing the end of the line with her coaching career.

Notes: If everything goes right for the Gophers they could finish as high as 4th.

I'll play: here are my groupings.

Biggest of the B1G

Maryland (12-0)
Ohio State (10-4)

B1G Do Over:

Northwestern (11-2): Coming off an extremely disappointing season this is Coffey’s last chance.
Michigan State (10-3): Coming of a mildly disappointing season. See Tripledouble above.
Penn State (10-2): Coming off a run of disappointing seasons.